SAUK VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES November 28, 2016

The Board of Trustees of Sauk Valley Community College met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room at Sauk Valley Community College, 173 Illinois Route #2, Dixon, Illinois.

Call to Order: Chair Stoller called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m., and the

following members answered roll call:

Lisa Wiersema Dennis P. Fulrath Robert J. Thompson Margaret Tyne Ed Andersen Brian Duncan

SVCC Staff: President, Dr. David Hellmich

VP of Academics and Student Services, Dr. Jon Mandrell VP of Research, Planning, and Information Affairs, Dr. Steve

Nunez

Dean of Business Services, Melissa Dye

Director of Building and Grounds, Frank Murphy

Human Resources Director, Kathryn Snow

Foundation Manager, Sharri Miller Administrative Assistant, Dana Chacon Director of Student Services, Dr. Lori Cortez

Director of Faculty Center for Innovative Teaching, Greg Noack

Absent: Student Trustee Kelsey Heslop

Consent Agenda: It was moved by Member Wiersema and seconded by Member

Thompson that the Board approve the Consent Agenda. In a roll

call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

President's Report: Dr. Hellmich provided the following information in his report:

Online Initiative Update

Dr. Hellmich shared that Sauk is committed to access and providing quality education to all students including via online programs. He shared that online enrollment is up 15% for the Spring semester. He then introduced Dr. Jon Mandrell to provide a background on the online strategic initiative. Dr. Mandrell provided an overview of the current online programs and how to access them. Dr. Steve Nunez asked Greg Noack to provide a glimpse of an online course. Greg walked through a course as a student as well as an instructor.

Federal Reserve Presentation

Dr. Hellmich shared that he and Jon Gvozdjak, President and COO of FRANTZ Manufacturing Company, served as panelists for the Fourth Annual Summit on Regional Competiveness at the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. He provided a presentation from that meeting and shared that as panelists they discussed the businessled collaboration between local manufactures and SVCC in the development and implementation of the Multicraft Technology curriculum and the new companion Multicraft Extended Internship Program.

Reports:

Student Trustee Report: There was no Student Trustee Report due to Student Trustee Heslop's absence.

Foundation Report: Member Tyne shared that tomorrow, Tuesday, November 29, is giving Tuesday. She encouraged each Board member to participate and shared the campaign information. She also shared an update on Spring Scholarships. She said that the Foundation has received over 200 scholarship applications and anticipates awarding over \$47,000 for the Spring Term.

ACCT/ICCTA Report: Member Tyne shared that she did not attend the ICCTA meeting and has nothing to report.

Board Policy 202.01 Administrative Staff Rules and Work

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Wiersema that the Board approve the revised Board Policy 202.01, Administrative Staff Rules and Work Regulations, as presented for Regulations – First Reading: a first reading. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Board Policy 201.01 Administrative Organization – Second Reading:

It was moved by Member Tyne and seconded by Member Andersen that the Board approve the revised Board Policy 201.01, Administrative Organization, as presented for a second reading. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Board Policy 625.01 Sauk Valley Community College Policy for Residency – Second Reading:

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Wiersema that the Board approve the revised Board Policy 625.01, Sauk Valley Community College Policy for Residency, as presented for a second reading. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Board Policy 419.01 Fringe Benefits - Third Reading:

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Andersen that the Board approve the revised Board Policy 419.01, Fringe Benefits, as presented for a third reading. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Administrator Appointment – Dean of Foundation, Grants, and Governmental Relations: It was moved by Member Andersen and seconded by Member Thompson that the Board approve the appointment of Dr. Lori Cortez for the 2016-2017 academic year as the Dean of Foundation, Grants, and Governmental Relations beginning December 5, 2016 at an annual salary of \$82,000. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

2016 Tax Levy:

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Fulrath that the Board approve the 2016 tax levy as presented. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Donation of Obsolete Equipment:

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Tyne that the Board approve the equipment listed as obsolete to be donated based on the condition of the equipment. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Recommendation for Bid Award – 2017 Abatement Project – Contract 1: It was moved by Member Andersen and seconded by Member Duncan that the Board approve the bid for 2017 Abatement Project – Contract 1 from Colfax Corporation for \$21,400 to be paid with Protection, Health, and Safety tax levy funds. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Closed Session:

It was moved by Member Wiersema and seconded by Member Thompson that the Board move into closed session. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

Approval of Closed Minutes:

It was moved by Member Thompson and seconded by Member Fulrath that the Board approve the closed minutes from the November 28, 2016 [correction: October 24, 2016] Board Meeting. In a roll call vote, all voted. Motion carried.

Adjournment:

Since the scheduled business was completed, it was moved by Member Andersen and seconded by Member Wiersema that the Board adjourn. In a roll call vote, all voted aye. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:17 p.m.

Next Meeting:

The next regular meeting of the Board will be at 6:00 p.m. on December 19, 2016 in the Board Room.

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Wiersema, Secretary