an institution of higher education that provides quality learning opportunities to meet the diverse needs of its students and community

2016 Cross-Country Team Outlook

The 2016 Skyhawk Cross Country team will have 16 members – 6 women and 10 men. Eight are returning runners. The challenge of the sophomores will be to show leadership and guidance in molding the group into a successful team. This should be achievable since as freshmen they worked hard and were in successful area high school programs.

The 2016 season consists of eight meets, including the Thirteenth Annual Skyhawk Invitational which will be held at Sauk on October 15.

Last year nine Skyhawks advanced to Nationals. This year, with larger numbers of proven potential, we hope to have even more National qualifiers.

The women’s team is composed of three returning runners: Santana Estrada and Mercedes Sanchez (Sterling) and Bailie Smith (Rock Falls).

We have three freshmen ladies: Jazmin Lopez (Sterling), Makaley Velazquez (Rock Falls), and Elizabeth McKee (Rock Falls).

The men’s team is made up of five sophomore runners: Quincy Coomes (Dixon), Chase Fisher (Dixon), Cody Sondgroth (Dixon), Peter DeLaFuente (Sterling), and Bryson Reyes (Sterling Newman).

The five freshmen men are Breu Knox (Rock Falls), Dave Villa (Rock Falls), and Seth Williams (Rock Falls), Johnee Schulte (Ohio), and Nathaniel Anderson (Tampico).

“It will be an exciting season as we train, improve, and set and achieve high goals for the 2016 cross country year.”