an institution of higher education that provides quality learning opportunities to meet the diverse needs of its students and community

SVCC’s Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 30 New Members for Spring '10

June 2010
Graphical advertisement

Thirty new members were recently inducted into the Beta Alpha Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Sauk Valley Community College. The new members and their hometowns include:

AMBOY: Kathryn Dewey.

DIXON: Janet Bennett, Benjamin Brokaw, Dilan Dempsey, Jessica Ennenbach, Kassie Guidebeck, Mariann Hall, Jessica Lemmer, Virginia Mayers, Kyle Sofolo, Heather Walden, and Lauren Walter.

FRANKLIN GROVE: Laura Hilliker.

MORRISON: Kendra Meurs and Katelyn Sedig.

MOUNT MORRIS: Kelsey Kleveland, Kimberly Reese and Jessica Weller.

NELSON: Angela Richmond.

OREGON: Carson Andrew.

ROCK FALLS: Tracy Hand and Ryan McKanna.

STERLING: Brittany Behrens, Molly Cook, Frederick Rastede and Leah Rodriguez.

STREATOR: Mitch Uratchko.

TAMPICO: Todd Pratt.

WALNUT: Jennifer Mattingly.

WEST BROOKLYN: Daniel Widolff.

The new inductees were honored at a ceremony held recently at SVCC. Sauk's PTK chapter, which currently has more than 100 members, participates in scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service activities throughout the year.

PTK, the most prestigious honor society for two-year colleges, has chapters across the U.S., Germany, and Puerto Rico. To become a member, students must have a 3.5 GPA and at least 12 college credits.