an institution of higher education that provides quality learning opportunities to meet the diverse needs of its students and community

News Archive graphic

Congratulations! Health Pinning Ceremony Candidates

May 2011

Seventy-one candidates in Sauk Valley Community College's Health Career Programs participated in Sauk's annual health pinning ceremony held May 13, in the SVCC gymnasium. This prestigious ceremony signifies that the candidates now join the ranks of the men and women in the health care field.

Janet Lynch, dean of health professions, gave the opening remarks and presented the candidates for their pins. SVCC President Dr. George Mihel welcomed the candidates.

A representative from each class presented brief "thoughts and reflections" on times spent at Sauk. Those representatives included Olivia Weeks, radiologic technology; Melissa Feit, practical nursing; Serena Lahey, associate degree nursing,; and Alyshia Sleck, NIOIN- associate degree nursing.

In SVCC's radiologic technology program, Stan Shippert, coordinator of Sauk's Radiologic Technology program, awarded pins to 22 candidates. They included: DIXON: Stephanie Burkhart, Danae Forman, Rebekah Hall, Sowmya Hombal, and Lindsey Tichler, FULTON: Amie Stoecker LA MOILLE: Olivia Weeks LENA: Josh Farrey MARSEILLES: Julie Johnson MENDOTA: Annalicia Vasquez MORRISON: Mellissa Ferguson MT. MORRIS: Lois Rutledge OREGON: Amy Beauchem and Lindsey Ruzicka OTTAWA: Ellen Gerding POLO: Jennifer Miller PRINCETON: Nilima Prashaad and BreAnna Thomas SPRING VALLEY: Amy Wilson STERLING: Jacob Gardner and Jenna Schofield WALNUT: Ann Berry

Catherine Vos, assistant professor of nursing, awarded pins to 15 LPN candidates. They included: ASHTON: Kristina Balch CHADWICK: Jessica Weires DIXON: Rae Ann Buch, Melissa Feit, Mariann Hall, Catherine Jasper, Tanya Myers, Cassandra Theisinger, and Lisa Wright OREGON: Jo Anna Girton and Carrie Holuj STERLING Ricky DeJonge, Todd Lazio, Lee Schneider, and Rebecca Weber

Chris Gelbach, R.N., assistant professor of nursing, awarded pins to 26 candidates in SVCC's associate degree nursing program. These candidates included: DIXON: Rachel Blackert, Sarah Blair, Jessica Faley, Jaselyn Nagy, Isabell Roberts, Amanda Scully, Carrie Smoot, and Gwen Wiemken MORRISON: Sarah Deter, Katie Hohlen, and Brittany Schaver POLO: Amanda Bowers and Lindsay Mitchell ROCK FALLS: Joie Caudillo, Mary Dixon, Adrienne OBryant, Khankham Phommavong, and Heather Valdivia STERLING: Nancy Baker-Arango, Brittani Crowder, Ivett Escalante, Katrina Helm, Serena Lahey, and Sarah Rio TAMPICO: Whitney Phillips WEST BROOKLYN: Joanna Lawrence

Linda Olds-Steinert, R.N., awarded pins to eight candidates in the Northern Illinois Online Initiative for Nursing (NIOIN) - associate degree nursing program. These candidates included: MORRISON: Brenna Smoot ROCK FALLS: Sheryl Gasper, Alyshia Sleck, and Christina Warner ROCKFORD: Matt Hopkins STERLING: Monica Fane and Susan Khuntangta WINNEBAGO: Lee Johnson

Special recognition awards were also presented to JoAnna Girton, practical nursing; Whitney Phillips, associate degree nursing; Olivia Weeks, radiologic technology; and Monica Fane, NIOIN- associate degree nursing.