an institution of higher education that provides quality learning opportunities to meet the diverse needs of its students and community

News Archive graphic

Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 37 New Members for Spring '12

Thirty-seven members were recently inducted into the Beta Alpha Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Sauk Valley Community College. The new members and their hometowns include:

DIXON: Valbona Bajrami, Alexandrea Barth, Cali Bartholomew, Matthew Groharing, Richard Hickey, Molly Love, Sara Mixen, Kimberly Moon, Emily Rhea, Kelli Shipman, Megan Swanson and Theodora Swartz

MILLEDGEVILLE: Jena Queckboerner and John Sluce

MORRISON: Marie Deter, Bethe Dinges Hughes, Rebecca Jordan and Colton Sedig

OREGON: Bryce Brewer and Brandon Brewer

PROPHETSTOWN: Lindsey Inskeep

ROCK FALLS: Angela Arwine, Charles Arwine, Jessica Bouwens, Randi Brabender, Paige Dettman, Jessica Knotts, Joseph Linton and Heather Musselman

STERLING: Jonathan Hitt, Geoffrey Lemay, Sarah Saenz and Rose Saenz

TAMPICO: Brett Schmidt

THOMSON: Travis Habben

WALNUT: Andrew Cessna

WEST BROOKLYN: Ashley Henkel

 The new inductees were honored at a ceremony held recently at SVCC.

 Sauk's PTK chapter, which currently has more than 100 members, participates in scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service activities throughout the year.

 PTK, the most prestigious honor society for two-year colleges, has chapters across the U.S., Germany, and Puerto Rico. To become a member, students must have a 3.5 GPA and at least 12 college credits.